workshop program
attending people

Hotel Caesar Park, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
August 2-6, 2004


The event will bring together scientists, technologists and industrialists across various disciplines, including Mechanics (solids and fluids), Materials, Chemistry, Physics, Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Biology and Medicine.

The workshop will include participation of students and post-docs from USA institutions, with priority given to students. The selection of the applicants will be made by means of a competition coordinated by the awards committee of AAM.

US Participants

Prof. P.N. Balaguru, Rutgers University, National Science Foundation
Prof. Juan Pestana, UC-Berkeley, National Science Foundation
Dr. Vicki B. Booker, National Science Foundation
Dr. Ken Chong, National Science Foundation
Dr. Jorn Larsen-Basse, National Science Foundation
Prof. Michael Bedzyk, Northwestern University
Prof. Steven Crouch, University of Minnesota
Prof. Horacio D. Espinosa, Northwestern University
Prof. Jacob Fish, Rensselaer, Polytechnic Institute
Prof. Nasr Ghoniem University of California, Los Angeles
Dr. Radha Nandkumar, NCSA
Prof. Alan Needleman, Brown University
Prof. J.N. Reddy, Texas A&M University
Prof. Monica Olvera de la Cruz, Northwestern University
Prof. Glaucio H. Paulino, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Prof. Wolé Soboyejo, Princeton University
Prof. Nicholas Zabaras, Cornell University

South America Participants

Prof. Lavinia Borges, COPPE/UFRJ
Prof. A.L.G.A. Coutinho, COPPE/UFRJ
Dr. Alexandre Madureira, LNCC
Prof. Edgar N. Mamiya, University of Brasilia, Brasil
Dr. Eduardo Souza Neto, University of Wales Swansea, LNCC
Prof. Djenane C. Pamplona, PUC-Rio
Prof. Deane de Mesquita Roehl, PUC-Rio
Prof. Rubens Sampaio, PUC-Rio
Prof. Emilio Silva, Escola Politécnica of the University of São Paulo
Prof. Gloria de Almeida Soares, COPPE/UFRJ

Ph.D. Students and Post-doc Fellows

Pedro C. Andia Penn State University
Eric N. Brown University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Justin Garvin University of Iowa
Dan S. Gianola The Johns Hopkins University
Keun-Ho Kim Northwestern University
Bei Peng Northwestern University
Zhengyu Zhang University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Organizing Committee

Prof. Glaucio H. Paulino University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA
Tel.: (+1 217)333-3817
Prof. Horacio D. Espinosa Northwestern University, Illinois, USA
Tel.: (+1 847) 467-5989

Prof. Fernando A. Rochinha COPPE/UFRJ
Prof. Lavinia Borges COPPE/UFRJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
Tel.: (+55 21) 2562-8315

Prof. Ney A. Dumont PUC-Rio
Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
Tel.: (+55 21) 3114-1193